I used to treasure hunt

By Semiha Abdulmelik

I used to treasure hunt
For
Things
In
Your Eyes
Dive like a pearl hunter into the deep dark waters,
fearless of dangers except of what I might
Find
I grasped and toyed with
Unspoken words, memories, secrets displayed on a glassy canvas/screen
Haboob of feelings and emotions whose shapes I struggled to make out
Cascading brilliance of lights set off by my movement and sound
Bewildering and enticing kaleidoscope of thoughts racing towards infinity
Without
Warning
Mysterious winds had shifted the sands
Mad currents ripped the pearls from my hands
And I, now lost and empty handed,
Searched and found
Nothing

Leave a Reply

