Excerpts from MALCOLM X, the Movie

Excerpts from MALCOLM X, the Movie

A real man doesn’t hide behind a bed sheet. –Malcolm’s father to the KKK

Get out of the prison of your mind. –Baines

A man curses because he doesn’t have the words to speak his mind. –Baines

If you take one step towards Allah, he will take two steps to you. –Baines

Go beyond the words and dig the truth. –Baines

The most dangerous creation in any society is the man who has nothing to lose -Elijah Muhammed

Since none of us is God, I don’t think any of us is in any position to say who is good and who is evil.

We didn’t land on Plymouth Rock, Plymouth Rock landed on us

See the building of a new nation begins with the women because the mother is the first teacher of the child, the message that she gives that child, the child gives to the world.

You’re with me, even when you’re away. –Betty

Before there was any such thing as a Republican and a Democrat, we were black.

I’m going to tell you like it really is…they send drugs in harlem to pacify us, they send alcohol down here to pacify us, they send prostitution down here to pacify us.

I say and I say and I’ll say it again. You been had, you been took, you been hoodwinked, bamboozled, led astray, run amuck..

Just as the white man and any other man for that matter on this earth has the God-given right, the human right, the civil right, the natural right and any other kind of high right you can think of to protect himself, just as this white man has the right to defend himself, we have the right to defend ourselves too. This is only natural.

The white man is in no moral position to accuse the black man of anything.

Praise the Lord and pass the ammunition-Malcolm X quoting  self righteous white men who accuse Malcolm of advocating violence

Father only means you’re taking care of your children. That’s what it means to be a father. Father doesn’t mean you’re having some babies, anyone can have a baby. Having a baby doesn’t make you a father. Anybody can go out and get a woman, but not everybody can take care of that woman. There is another word for it, its responsibility.

There’s going to be a racial explosion. A racial explosion is more dangerous than an atomic explosion.

I’m not made of glass, and I won’t break. –Betty

Are you sure, or are you blind? –Betty

You can face death 24 hours a day but the possibility of betrayal never enters your head? Open your eyes–Betty

The honorable Elijah Muhammed who was praising me to my face was tearing me apart behind my back. The thing that is worse to me than death is betrayal. You see, I could conceive death, but I couldn’t conceive betrayal.

You can’t stop the rooster crowing once the sun is up. And the sun is up.

We need to work together. We must find a common solution to a common problem.

There cannot be black-white unity until there is black unity. We cannot think of uniting with others until we have first learnt to unite amongst ourselves. We cannot think of being acceptable to others until we have first proven acceptable to ourselves.

But I believe the true practice of Islam can remove the cancers from all Americans and if I can die having brought any light, having exposed any meaningful truth that would help destroy this disease, than all the credit is due to ALLAH, Lord of the worlds and only the mistakes have been mine.

As black people in America strive to throw off the shackles of mental colonialism, they will also reflect their desire to throw off the shackles of cultural colonialism I believe that a mental and a cultural migration back to Africa not necessarily a physical migration at this point but a cultural and mental migration back to Africa which only means we affirm our bond with our brothers over there, which would help to strengthen us here in America. Not only spiritually but also as an incentive to solve some of our problems here at home.

Well in the soil of the Americas, the white man planted the seed of hatred. He’s planted the seeds of violence. He’s allowed the weeds to choke the lives of millions of black men and women for the last 400 years in fact the lives of Indians in the Americas in the last 500 years and now those same weeds have choked one of his gardeners, in fact his chief gardener, and you ask me..i only say what the bible says, what the quran says, it’s justice!

Well, sir I don’t think anyone here could deny that when you send your chickens out in the morning from your barnyard those chickens will return that evening to your barnyard, not your neighbors barnyard. I think this is a prime example of the devils chickens coming home to roost that the chickens he sent out, the violence he perpetrated in other countries, here and abroad, be it four children in burlingham or Medgar Evans or Lumumba in Africa. I think this same violence is coming back to claim one of their own. Now being an old farm boy myself, chickens coming home to roost has never made me sad, in fact it only makes me glad

From now on, I speak my own words, I think my own thoughts.

We have been bowing for 400 years. I think it’s about time we stand up

I don’t care what they’re saying.  I see what they’re doing.

You’re with us even when you’re away. –Betty

It’s the time for martyrs. The way I’m feeling, I shouldn’t go out there today.

The person you know as Malcolm X is no more.

We haven’t learnt to disagree without being disagreeable. –Martin Luther King Jr.

This Afro-American who lies before us unconquered still I say the word again as he would want me too—Afro-American. Afro-American Malcolm had stopped being negro years ago. It had become too small, too puny, too weak a word for him. Malcolm was bigger than that. He had become Afro-American and wanted so desperately that we all become Afro-American. –Ossie Davis

We declare our right on this earth to be a man, to be a human being, to be given the rights of a human being. To be respected as a human being in this society, on this earth, on this day which we intended to bring into existence. –Malcolm X’s words as told by Nelson Mandela

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,055 other followers

